I Need A Vacation

Yes, already.

My assistant did a fantastic job of keeping things under control in my absence. However, some things could only be resolved by me and I consequently spent the better part of my day putting out fire after fire.

Enough said about that.

The last day of vacation was luxuriously relaxing. We went for a looooong walk with The Puppy, then enjoyed margaritas on the deck while Nemo splashed around in his puppy pool. Then The Boy and I gussied ourselves up and went out for a nice dinner together to celebrate the Big Day.

We went to Crofton On Wells, a place I had been to with my boss last October. I remember the food being phenominal, and while quite good, I didn’t think it really justified the cost. I had the Summer Pasta and The Boy had the duck. My pasta was damn tasty. It was loaded with veggies and had a delicious, light green-ish sauce. I have no idea what was in it and I didn’t take any pictures of the food (really have to remember that next time). I did, however, manage to ask our waiter to snap a picture of The Boy and me.

Isn’t he adorable?

I ended up going to bed WAAAY too late and had a heck of a time getting up the next morning for my run. I managed to drag myself out of bed around 5:30, though, and got myself to the gym. I tried to stay positive.

I’m not even joking when I say that looking at my nicely polished toenails lifted my spirits and actually got me out the door.

And then I had one of the worst workouts ever. I felt slow, sluggish, heavy and tired. I’m not sure if it was because I hadn’t run since Sunday or because I ate too much of the wrong things or because I had such little sleep, but I couldn’t even make it a mile before I had to take a walk break. I managed to get in two and half miles (I did run one and a half of those), but holy crap it was painful.

Breakfast was toast with sunflower butter and an iced coffee with Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze and Splenda.

I had a ridiculously long day at work (9-9), so lunch and dinner were fast. Smart Ones Pizza Minis for lunch with another iced coffee, and a Tall Coffee Light Frappucino, a Jimmy John’s Slim Roast Beef (with most of the bread torn out of the middle — I love crust, but I’m not so much about the mushy middle) and a single-serving bag of PopChips. I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of my dinner because my boss came into my office and talked to me during my whole dinner break. I guess that’s the price I have to pay for having five days off. Sigh.

Next time: What I had for breakfast on Friday. STAY TUNED!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under fitness, live

Leave a Reply

